Expedition to the Kingdom of Mustang with Ivan Dementievsky

return to the workshops list


Sep 24, 2014 – Oct 3, 2014

Genre: Travel, Landscape, Genre

The workshop has been completed

Manager: Ivan Dementievskiy

Photos of the workshop participants

Here you can view the photos, taken by the workshop participants. These are the best works, selected by the master in the process of joint discussions.

 

© Dmitry Kuznetsov

© Dmitry Kuznetsov

© Dmitry Kuznetsov

3 photos from 1 authors

Lead photographer

Ivan Dementievskiy

Photographer, traveler, journalist. Organizer of expeditions to hard-to-get-at corners of the Earth, explorer of the remote regions, small peoples of the world. Author of the "Kingdom of Mustang" book, and a numer of publications in journals, and online media.

List of participants is visible to the club members, who have attended at least one workshop.

About the workshop

Photo expedition to Mustang, group leader Ivan Dementievsky Mustang kingdom is a sacred place in the Nepal Himalayas. Ivan Dementievsky has made travel to the planet’s pristine and secret places his life’s work. In 2007 he made the first of his several journeys to Mustang, and this September he’ll lead an expedition there. We’ll cross mountains, canyons and high passes and, thanks to jeeps, be among the first to complete a quick trip from the foothills to upper Mustang.

Our ultimate destination is Lo Manthang, Mustang’s ancient capital 3700 m above sea level, where tradition keeps history alive through generations. First settlers came to this place about 6 centuries ago, and the kingdom of Mustang was born out of numerous bloody conflicts that followed. Being so remote from the rest of the world, Mustang has managed to retain an original culture, colored by a centuries-old adherence to Bon shamanism. Women here still style their hair in complex turquoise-ornamented shapes, a maze of houses keeps away cutting winds and evil spirits, and hearths are stoked with yak manure, the default fuel of Tibetan highlanders.

Take this chance to see Mustang this fall before snows cut off the mountain passes.

Program hide

Day 1
September 24, Wednesday

Arrival to Kathmandu, the group assembles. Check-in. Those who fly in earliest may rest from the flight or take a walk in the city. In the evening we’ll have supper together, introduce ourselves and listen to introductory information about the photo expedition. We’ll break up early to be fresh next morning for our flight to Pokhara.

Day 2
September 25, Thursday

Really early breakfast, at 6 a.m. or so, then off to the airport. All air travel in Nepal is best-done in the morning because of turbulence. After we land in Pokhara there will be enough time to explore this resort town, have a normal lunch and a little red dry wine. There’s a gorgeous lake in Pokhara too, and we’ll watch the sun do down from the shore.

Day 3
September 26, Friday

Again an early rise, breakfast and we fly out to Jomsom. If weather is bad, we’ll go by car. We’ll spend a couple of hours in Jomsom and move out to Kagbeni, a Tibetan village. Porters will be hired to carry our stuff just this stretch of the road; afterwards we and the baggage will travel by car and legwork will be limited to villages and towns. The hike will last about 3 hours, and it’s necessary to get our bodies accustomed to functioning at these heights. Of course, we’ll also use this time for landscape photography, whatever the weather.

Day 4
September 27, Saturday

Sleep the night in Kagbeni, get on a jeep and drive out to Zaranj. There we’ll make sure to go up and down the village and thereabouts, cameras at the ready, by way of a second stage of adaptation. The trip to Zaranj will take some 5 hours or a little longer. We’ll pass through a few villages along the way and can put up there for a while, walk about, take a few shots.

Day 5
September 28, Sunday

Sleep the night in Zaranj and head out to our final destination Lo Manthang. It’ll take about 2 hours. After lunch and until late we’ll roam around Lo and talk to people living there, making pictures, of course.

Day 6
September 29, Monday

We’ll spend the entire day in and around the city.

Day 7
September 30, Tuesday

Before breakfast we’ll shoot in town. After breakfast you’ll have an hour to pack before we leave Jomsom. The trip is about 8 hours long, but we’d better fit it all in a day so we’ll have a whole day left for unexpected delays, or if none happen, we can make the most of it in Kathmandu.

Day 8
October 1, Wednesday

In the morning we’ll fly out of Jomsom to Pokhara and from there to Kathmandu (there’s no way to fly from Kathmandu to Jomsom). We’ll be arriving at Kathmandu in late afternoon and probably too tired for exploring. Celebration dinner perhaps?

Day 9
October2 , Thursday

A freeish day in Kathmandu. Usually people spend a half a day buying souvenirs and such, so we’ll start by going to a few authentic places such as cremation sites, great Buddhist stupas etc. That way you’ll have the afternoon to yourself, whether you choose to go shopping or take pictures in town.

Day 10
October 3, Friday

Departure. Participants will have the time to get home and prepare for the coming working week.In the photo expedition format there is no time set aside for picture review, so you don’t have to bring a notebook. But you will be able to ask the head of the group any questions about photography you might have. We’ll sum up the trip’s results in a definitive way 2 weeks after, once everyone has uploaded their pictures to frameway.ru and Ivan has selected the best of the stock.

Экспедиция в Королевство Мустанг с Иваном Дементиевским

вернуться к списку


24 сентября 2014 – 3 октября 2014

Стиль: Тревел, Пейзаж, Жанр

Мастер-класс завершен

Менеджер: Иван Дементиевский

Фотографии участников мастер-класса

Ниже вы можете посмотреть фотографии, сделанные участниками этого мастер-класса. Это лучшие работы, отобранные мастером в процессе совместных обсуждений.

 

© Дмитрий Кузнецов

© Дмитрий Кузнецов

© Дмитрий Кузнецов

3 фотографии от 1 автора

Ведущий фотограф

Иван Дементиевский

Фотограф, путешественник, журналист. Организатор фотоэкспедиций в труднодоступные уголки планеты, исследователь отдаленных регионов, малых народов мира. Автор книги «Королевство Мустанг» и множества публикаций в журналах, интернет-изданиях.

Список участников доступен постоянным членам клуба, посетившим хотя бы один мастер-класс и входящим в состав этой группы.

О мастер-классе

Фотоэкпедиция в Мустанг под руководством Ивана Дементиевского.

Королевство Мустанг – священное место в непальских Гималаях. Впервые Иван Дементиевский, для которого путешествия в первозданные места Земли – дело жизни, добрался до Мустанга в 2007 году. С тех пор бывал там несколько раз. В сентябре Иван возглавит экспедицию, в которой сможем принять участие и мы. На нашем пути будут встречаться горы, каньоны и перевалы – неизменные атрибуты любой экспедиции. Мы будем одними из первых, кто поднимется из предгорий в верхний Мустанг на джипах в короткий срок.

Главная цель нашего путешествия – достичь Ло Мантанга, древней столицы королевства Мустанг, и окунуться в его жизнь и атмосферу. Там, на высоте 3700 метров над уровнем моря, историю учат не по учебникам; её дыхание всё ещё живо и передаётся от отцов и дедов сыновьям и внукам. Люди поселились в этой местности примерно шесть веков назад и после многочисленных кровопролитных войн, родилось королевство Мустанг.

Удалённость места определила самобытность культуры, а многовековая практика шаманских ритуалов Бои – свой неповторимый дух. Здесь, высоко в горах женщины всё ещё носят причёски, венчая их украшениями с бирюзой, дома образуют сложный лабиринт, который призван задерживать ветер и злых духов от проникновения внутрь, очаги топятся ячьими лепёшками или ячьим кизяком – главным топливом тибетских племён в высокогорных Гималаях.

Поторопимся же увидеть Мустанг этой осенью ещё до того, как на перевалах появится первый снег, и вход странникам будет закрыт до окончания зимы.

Программа скрыть

День 1 ( 24 сентября, среда)
День прилета и сбора группы в Катманду. Заселение в отель. Те, кто прилетят пораньше, смогут по желанию отдохнуть с дороги или прогуляться по городу. Вечером совместный ужин, знакомство, вводная информация по фотоэкспедиции. До ночи не засиживаемся, т.к. рано утром перелет в Покхару.

День 2 ( 25 сентября, четверг)
Очень ранний завтрак, ориентировочно в 6 утра и переезд в аэропорт. Все перелёты в Непале делаются по возможности рано утром, это связано с турбулентными потоками. Прилетев в Покхару мы спокойно походим с камерами по этому курортному городу, сможем поесть нормальную еду и немного выпить сухого вина. В Покхаре очень красивое озеро, на его берегу мы встретим закат.

День 3 ( 26 сентября, пятница)
Подъем так же рано, завтрак и вылет в Джомсон. Если погода плохая и не лётная, мы поедем на машинах. В Джомсоне мы проводим час-два и выдвигаемся в тибетскую деревушку Какбени. Только на этот участок мы берём портеров – дальше наши вещи и мы сами будем ехать на машине, а пешие разминки будут уже по приезду на месте. Пеший маршрут займет примерно 3 часа. Он необходим в качестве первого этапа адаптации наших организмов к высоте. Конечно, мы используем его и для пейзажной фотографии, независимо от погоды.

День 4 ( 27 сентября, суббота)
Переночевав в Какбени, садимся на джип и едем до Царанга, там в обязательном порядке прогуливаемся по деревне и окрестностям. Это второй этап адаптации, конечно, с камерами в руках. Переезд до Царанга займёт примерно 5 часов, возможно чуть больше – мы будем проезжать пару деревень и по желанию сможем ненадолго в них остановиться, погулять и поснимать.

День 5 ( 28 сентября, воскресенье)
После ночёвки в Царанге переезд в Ло Мантанг – конечную точку нашего маршрута. Переезд занимает примерно 2 часа. После обеда и до позднего вечера гуляем по Ло и общаемся с местными жителями. Фотографируем.

День 6 ( 29 сентября, понедельник)
Весь день мы проведем в городе и окрестностях.

День 7 ( 30 сентября, вторник)
Утром до завтрака – рассветная съемка в городе, после завтрака час на сборы и выезжаем в Джомсон. Пеерезд займёт часов 8, но это лучше сделать одним днём – тогда появляется в запасе день на непредвиденные задержки и если их не случится, то этот день можно продуктивно использовать в Катманду.

День 8 (1 октября, среда)
Утром вылет из Джомсона в Покхару и оттуда в Катманду (такой вариант из Катманду в Джомсон невозможен). В Катманду мы будем уже ближе к вечеру, скорее всего сил на особые гуляния не будет – можно закатить праздничный ужин.

День 9 день (2 октября, четверг)
Полусвободный день в Катманду. Обычно полдня уходит на всякие покупки сувениров, поэтому мы в начале посетим несколько аутентичных мест (например: сжигание трупов, великие буддистские ступы и т.п.), а после обеда время будет полностью свободное время, который каждый участник сможет потратить в соответствии со своими предпочтениями (походить по магазинам или пофотографировать в городе).

День 10 (3 октября, пятница)
День отлета. У участников будет время добраться домой и привести себя в порядок перед началом новой рабочей недели.

Формат фотоэкспедиции не предполагает специального времени и условий для обсуждения фотографий непосредственно в процессе путешествия (поэтому брать с собой ноутбук не обязательно). Однако участники могут в любой момент получить у ведущего консультацию по фотографическим вопросам. Финальные же итоги поездки будут подведены в течение 2-х недель после окончания экспедиции, когда все участники загрузят фотографии на сайт frameway.ru, а Иван выберет лучшие работы.