Argentina and Uruguay with Pavel Kosenko

return to the workshops list


Feb 25, 2015 – Mar 6, 2015

Genre: Street, Art, Genre

The workshop has been completed

Manager: Karen Hovhannisian

Photos of the workshop participants

Here you can view the photos, taken by the workshop participants. These are the best works, selected by the master in the process of joint discussions.

 

© Olesia Prisiazhnaia

© Natalia Tutova

© Alexander Dragunov

145 photos from 13 authors

Lead photographer

Pavel Kosenko

Colorist photographer. Devout color explorer and an author of numerous articles on photography and image processing. An author of The Living Digit book (published by Treemedia in 2013). A co-founder of the Fotoproekt, a chain of photolaboratories and a photoschool. An organizer and participant of a number of photo tours across Southeast Asia, Europe, the Middle East and other regions. An author of a very popular Russian blog on photography and travel.

List of participants is visible to the club members, who have attended at least one workshop.

About the workshop

Argentina! A country where old traditions and modern, poverty and luxury mingle freely. A lifetime may not be enough to truly know it, but we'll get a taste in just 6 intense days. 4 days more will be spent in the neighboring Uruguay.

Socialize with each other and locals, seep fragrant mate, listen to tango, see a carnival – exotic experiences and creative company. And lest we forget, local cuisine borrowing from Italian and Spanish, African and Indian cooking traditions. Where else if not in the Meat Country can you taste the world's best asado?

After the first days in Buenos-Aires, where we'll stroll down noble promenades and peek into the slums, set your sights on Uruguay. The bay of Rio de la Plata, Montevideo City, ocean expanse, sunshine and beaches!

Pavel Kosenko will lead on this action-filled photo romp and share his know-how.

Program hide

Day 1. Wednesday, February 25

Arrival to Buenos-Aires, check-in. A walk in the city, first photos made, a home-style dinner.

We will live in a cozy and comfortable hotel in the heart of Argentina's capital. La Boca, Buenos-Aires' most colorful district with a thriving art scene, is within walking distance. So are the upscale La Recoleta with its extravagant cemetery and gorgeous mansions and the modern, sky-scraping Puerto Madero. Those who recover quickly from the flight may roam the refined Palermo district with its spacious parks, street cafes, boutiques of designers, try to catch the city spirit on camera. In the evening we will visit a genuine Argentinean house for a welcome dinner, to share first impressions, discuss plans and, of course, sample the famous local dish – asado, assorted bits of the freshest meat grilled.

Day 2. Thursday, February 26

A trip to the harbor district La Boca. We'll also get to see diverse street art in the city.

Kicking the morning off with an introductory lecture, we'll leave the hotel early and take a commuter bus to La Boca, a district founded by Italian immigrants. Rubbing shoulders with ordinary Argentines will help you get a sense of real Buenos-Aires and get out of the tourist bubble. Afterwards we'll gather on a cafe terrace, discuss our ideas and finds, savor the view on the old port. In the second half of the day we'll go looking for street art and graffiti, visit places off the beaten path, no doubt catch some street artists doing their thing. Soft lighting at this hour is very favorable to photography. The day will conclude with a dinner at a fish restaurant.

Day 3. Friday, February 27

A sally to the slums. A walk in the upscale Puerto Madero. A tango evening at the city's milongas.

After the morning review of last day's pictures we'll venture out into city slums – "villas miseria" or just "villas." These dangerous neighborhoods are out of the reach of law and order. We might get to see children playing in the dirt or drug traffickers fighting it out, so we'll have guides to lead us through safely. The group will split in two, with some people studying and shooting slum life while others spend the time in the clean and safe Puerto Madero district nearby. In the evening we're bound for numerous milonga cafes, where Argentines gather to dance milonga proper and tango. We'll try to catch on camera the passion of tango and dancers' soulful expression of love and sorrow for their partners.

Day 4. Saturday, February 28

A trip to Gualeguaychú for carnival. We'll observe carnival workers preparing the event and dive in for the unforgettable night of the carnival.

In the morning we'll travel to Gualeguaychú, a city in Entre Rios province, famous for its carnival. It is a gala celebration, only slightly behind Rio de Janeiro's or Venice's in scale or drive. We'll not only get to witness and record a grand show, but go behind the scenes to see preparations underway. Bring plenty of patience, shooting zeal and memory cards – it's sure to be a long and exciting night! We'll return to Buenos-Aires after the event.

Day 5. Sunday, March 1

Rest after the carnival night. Shooting in the historical San Telmo district.

We'll get back to Buenos-Aires in early morning and spend the first half of the day resting at the hotel. In the afternoon we'll explore San Telmo district with its antiquities markets and bric-a-brac, street art and historical features. Dinner at a traditional Buenos-Aires cafe, the kind that remembers 19th-century heated political debates and poetic contests in the beginning of the 20th, to round up the day.

Day 6. Monday, March 2

A walk in business district La City and Avenida de Mayo. Sailing to Parana river valley.

In the morning, as always, a photo review. Then we'll continue exploring Buenos-Aires districts – the downtown La City followed by a walk along the country's most beautiful boulevard Avenida de Mayo, whose architecture and planning were inspired by boulevards of Paris. In the afternoon we'll step aboard a yacht to sail to Parana river valley. Parana flows into the world's broadest river, Rio de la Plata. We'll get to see and get a feeling for Argentine country houses and family life. In the evening we'll dine at a meat restaurant and say farewell to Buenos-Aires.

Day 7. Tuesday, March 3

Travel to Uruguay. A visit to the cinematic Colonia del Sacramento. Travel to Montevideo in the evening.

Getting up early, we'll discuss pictures and take a high-speed ferry to Uruguay. Our first stop there is Colonia del Sacramento, a port town in the southwestern part of the country on the shores of Rio de la Plata. Its old and charming alleys have been a setting for numerous movies, and we too will find countless opportunities for genre and street photography. Come evening, we're off to Uruguay's capital Montevideo. We'll check in a hotel in the city center.

Day 8. Wednesday, March 4

A walk in Montevideo. In the evening travel to Punta del Este where Uruguay's best beaches are.

Picture review. The rest of the day will be spent on a walk through Montevideo, search for original scenes to shoot in the middle of everyday city life, a discussion of results. In the evening we'll travel to the sea at Punta del Este.

Day 9. Thursday, March 5

Seaside relaxation, final picture review.

We'll select the best pictures, share our impressions and sum up the workshop.

Day 10. Friday, March 6

Departure.

Useful information

Very important! You must bring along a notebook to review and select pictures - we'll have discussions almost every day. Be aware that iPads and other tablets usually aren't a good choice for this. You'll need a notebook to upload pictures made during the day, make a first yes-no selection, apply preliminary corrections, if necessary, and to save the result on a USB that can later be plugged into the projector for group discussion. All that takes time, which is always at a premium on our trips. So don't count on borrowing someone else's notebook. They will be just too busy to share.

Russian citizens don't need a visa to enter Argentina and Uruguay.

Аргентина и Уругвай с Павлом Косенко

вернуться к списку


25 февраля 2015 – 6 марта 2015

Стиль: Стрит, Арт, Жанр

Мастер-класс завершен

Менеджер: Карен Оганесян

Фотографии участников мастер-класса

Ниже вы можете посмотреть фотографии, сделанные участниками этого мастер-класса. Это лучшие работы, отобранные мастером в процессе совместных обсуждений.

 

© Наталья Тутова

© Наталья Тутова

© Стас Тордуа

145 фотографий от 13 авторов

Ведущий фотограф

Павел Косенко

Фотограф. Исследователь цвета, автор многочисленных статей, посвященных вопросам фотосъемки и обработки фотографий. Автор книги «Живая цифра». Один из основателей Творческой лаборатории «Среда» и клуба «Фреймвей». Автор и ведущий популярного русскоязычного блога о фотографии и путешествиях.

Список участников доступен постоянным членам клуба, посетившим хотя бы один мастер-класс и входящим в состав этой группы.

О мастер-классе

Аргентина! Страна, в которой старина и современность, нищета и роскошь не соседствуют, а живут вместе. Кому-то может не хватить на это целой жизни, но мы познакомимся с ней всего за 6 насыщенных дней. И еще 4 дня посвятим соседнему Уругваю.

Приятное общение друг с другом и с местными обитателями, ароматный мате, звуки танго, аргентинский карнавал, экзотика и творческая атмосфера. И, конечно, местная кухня, в которой смешались черты итальянских и испанских, африканских и индейских блюд! Где, как не в “стране мяса”, можно отведать лучшие в мире асадо?

Первые дни мы проведем в Буэнос-Айресе, прогуляемся по аристократичным районам и трущобам. Переместимся в Уругвай к заливу Рио-де-Ла-Плата, затем в Монтевидео и, наконец – море, солнце и пляжи!

Возглавит поездку Павел Косенко, который поделится своими знаниями во время интенсивного мастер-класса по фотографии.

Программа скрыть

День 1. Среда, 25 февраля

Прибытие в Буэнос-Айрес и размещение в отеле. Прогулка и первая съемка, домашний ужин.

Мы разместимся в уютном отеле в сердце столицы Аргентины. В пешей доступности - самый красочный квартал Буэнос-Айреса, Ла-Бока, где бурлит культурная жизнь, буржуазный Ла-Реколета с роскошным кладбищем и импозантными особняками, современный Пуэрто-Мадеро. Те, кто полон сил после перелета, могут отправиться в элегантный район Палермо с его обширными парками, уличными кафе, бутиками аргентинских дизайнеров, и поймать в объектив атмосферу города. Вечером группу ждет приветственный ужин в аутентичном аргентинском доме. Мы поделимся первыми впечатлениями и обсудим дальнейшие планы и, конечно же, попробуем знаменитую местную еду – асадо, ассорти из нескольких видов свежайшего мяса на гриле.

День 2. Четверг, 26 февраля

Поездка в портовый район Ла-Бока, изучение всех граней уличного искусства города.

С утра - вводная лекция в отеле, после которой мы поедем на рейсовом автобусе в Ла-Боку, район, основанный выходцами из Италии. Поездка плечом к плечу с обычными аргентинцами поможет уловить дух нетуристического Буэнос-Айреса. После прогулки мы соберемся на террасе кафе, обсудим наши идеи и находки, полюбуемся видом на старый порт. Во второй половине дня мы поедем знакомиться со стрит-артом и граффити. Мы побываем в районах, которые обычно не входят в туристический маршрут, и непременно застанем кого-то из художников за работой. Мягкое освещение в это время очень благоприятно для съемки. Вечером - совместный ужин в рыбном ресторане

День 3. Пятница, 27 февраля

Вылазка в джунгли трущоб. Прогулка по холеному Пуэрто-Мадеро. Вечер танго в милонгах города.

После утреннего обсуждения отснятого материала мы отправимся в городские трущобы - villas miseria (деревни нищеты) или просто «вижьяс». В этих опасных районах не действуют обычные законы и можно увидеть как играющих в грязи детей, так и разборки наркоторговцев, поэтому нас будут сопровождать проводники. Мы разобьемся на две группы, и пока одна из них будет изучать и фотографировать жизнь трущоб, вторая может прогуляться по безопасному Пуэрто-Мадеро, расположенному неподалеку. Вечером нас ждут многочисленные милонги, где собираются горожане, чтобы потанцевать танго и милонгу. Мы попытаемся поймать и запечатлеть эмоцию танго, экспрессию танцоров, которые делают это по велению души, делясь с партнером своей страстью и грустью.

День 4. Суббота, 28 февраля

Поездка в Гуалегуайчу на карнавал. Наблюдение за подготовкой к празднику и погружение в незабываемую карнавальную ночь.

После утреннего обсуждения фото мы отправимся в Гуалегуайчу, город в провинции Энтре-Риос, знаменитый своим карнавалом. Масштабный карнавал, который мы увидим, по размерам и драйву совсем немногим уступает карнавалам в Рио-де-Жанейро и Венеции. Мы не только станем зрителями и репортёрами великолепного шоу, но и заглянем за кулисы, чтобы увидеть, как происходит подготовка к празднику. Запаситесь терпением, азартом охотника и картами памяти, ночь будет длинной и захватывающей! Возвращение в Буэнос-Айрес.

День 5. Воскресенье, 1 марта

Отдых после карнавальной ночи. Съемки в историческом районе Сан-Тельмо.

В Буэнос-Айрес мы вернемся под утро и первую половину дня отдохнем в отеле. Вторую половину дня мы посвятим исследованию района Сан-Тельмо с его антикварными и блошиными рынками, уличным искусством и историческим колоритом. Ужин - в одном из традиционных буэнос-айресских кафе, которые помнят жаркие политические дискуссии конца XIX века и богемные поэтические вечера начала прошлого столетия.

День 6. Понедельник, 2 марта

Прогулка по деловому кварталу La City и Авенида-де-Майо. Поездка на яхте в долину реки Парана.

С утра и традиционный разбор отснятого материала. Далее мы продолжим знакомство с районами Буэнос-Айреса, отправившись в Микроцентр, который здесь называют La City, затем прогуляемся по самому красивому бульвару страны, Авенида-де-Майо, вдохновленному духом парижских бульваров. Во второй половине дня мы совершим поездку на яхте в долину реки Парана. Эта река сливается с самой широкой рекой мира, Рио-де-Ла-Плата. Мы сможем прочувствовать атмосферу аргентинских дач и семейного досуга аргентинцев. Вечером - ужин в мясном ресторане. Прощание с Буэнос-Айресом.

День 7. Вторник, 3 марта

Переезд в Уругвай. Посещение кинематографичной Колонии-дель-Сакраменто. Вечером переезд в Монтевидео.

Нас ждет ранний подъем и обсуждение фотографий. Затем на скоростном пароме мы поедем в Уругвай. Наша первая цель - Колония-дель-Сакраменто, город-порт на юго-западе Уругвая на берегу Рио-де-Ла-Плата, основанный португальцами в 1680 году. На древних и очаровательных улочках города, где снимались многочисленные киноленты, мы найдем тысячи необычных идей для жанровой и стрит фотографии. Вечером мы отправимся в столицу Уругвая Монтевидео и поселимся в отеле в центре города.

День 8. Среда, 4 марта

Прогулка по Монтевидео. Вечером переезд в Пунту-дель-Эсте на лучшие пляжи Уругвая.

С утра обсуждение фотографий. День будет посвящен прогулке по Монтевидео, поиску нетривиальных сюжетов в самый обычный день жизни города и разбору снятого фотоматериала. Под вечер мы отправимся отдохнуть на море, в Пунта-дель-Эсте.

День 9. Четверг, 5 марта

Расслабленный пляжный отдых на море, заключительное обсуждение фотографий

Выбираем лучшие фотографии, делимся впечатлениями, подводим итоги мастер-класса.

День 10. Пятница, 6 марта

День отъезда

Полезная информация

Очень важно! С собой необходимо иметь ноутбук для отсмотра и отбора фотографий — практически ежедневно будут проводиться обсуждения результатов съёмки. Обратите внимание, как правило, для этих целей не подходят iPad’ы и другие планшетные компьютеры. Ноутбук необходим для того, чтобы вы могли скачать на него отснятые за день снимки, сделать предварительный отбор, предварительную обработку (если требуется) и сохранить результат на флеш-карту для дальнейшего обсуждения с помощью проектора. Эта работа занимает время, которое в наших поездках очень ценно. Поэтому не стоит рассчитывать на то, что компьютер можно занять у товарищей (у них просто не будет такой возможности, компьютеры нужны им самим).

Гражданам РФ виза в Аргентину и Уругвай не требуется.